About Us

We are your community's credit union. We exist for and because of our members.

Our History

RVCCU's 1947 organizational certficate

Our roots are in education and service.

In 1947, a small group of teachers pooled their money and began the Roanoke City Teachers Federal Credit Union.

We added Hollins University faculty and staff to our field of membership in 1956. We continued to add more school systems afterwards, as well as local organizations both large and small.

We were among the first local credit unions to change to a community-based membership in 2002, giving us the ability to serve all who lived or worked in the Roanoke Valley.

Since then, we have also been priviledged to merge with Roanoke County School Employees FCU and Roanoke Virginia Fireman's FCU.

Our Mission

Day Avenue street sign

Mission Statement

Roanoke Valley Community CU, a member-owned, democratically controlled financial cooperative that exists "Not for Profit, not for Charity, but for Service," is committed to serve the financial needs of our membership.

It is our responsibility to maximize the benefits to our members while maintaining financial stability.

Our Values

Members - The only reason we exist. We are dedicated to providing courteous, professional, prompt service and will strive to better understand and satisfy the changing needs of our members. We must create member loyalty and respect.

Employees - Provide job satisfaction and career enhancement opportunities for our employees. Our employees deserve a challenging, enjoyable, and stable work environment. Together, we must develop mutual respect, trust, and commitment.

Community - As partners with our community, we must work for the common good of our people and environment and to provide equal employment opportunities.

Our Volunteer Officials

Board members at the Abney Road ribbon cutting

Board of Directors

Betty Massey, Chairman

Tom Hard, Vice-Chairman

Danny Marshall, Treasurer

Dee Dixon, Secretary

Mary Jane Barrett

Alfred Brown

Rod Dillman

Michael Rayl

Rickie Sykes

Supervisory Committee

Bill Clingenpeel, Chairman

Alfred Brown

Betty Massey

Frank McClung

Paulette Ogle

Janis Wertz

Our Leadership



Woody Windley, President

Pam Duke, Vice-President of Operations/Marketing

Lauren Whitmire, Director of Finance